Under no man’s skin

November 5, 2006

It’s something of a crossing between bio art, fashion, (pseudo)organic pet and I don’t know what else. Oh and besides all that, just plainly eccentric.

It’s called Skinbag and I don’t know whether to love it or hate it right now. It reminds me of those strange living computers in David Cronenberg’s movie eXistenZ, which I also never knew whether to love or hate.

Go ahead, take a look at it. It really looks like human skin although it’s made of latex.

Skinbag Clothing

Anyway besides being a revolutionary fashion accessory, the fact that it’s made of “synthetic human skin” (read “latex mock-up of human skin”) requires some special care from the user. This special care includes avoiding long exposure to Sun and heat, washing with lukewarm water and soap and even… putting some talcum powder on it!

Kind of twisted, in’t it? I’m starting to appreciate the idea. Not that I have any sick fantasy with talcum powder mind you.

2 Responses to “Under no man’s skin”

  1. rute said

    Good to know but the actual models design is disappointing, don’t you agree? Check the “Skin: Surface, Substance, and Design” book (Ellen Lupton) for different (and more interesting) approaches on the skin theme.
    It also made me think of eXistenZ but for me, the ultimate twisted film about skin is The Pillow Book by Peter Greenaway.

  2. Great, another movie to add to my “to see” list. By the way, can anyone borrow me The Naked Lunch, Videodrome and The Game, please?

Leave a Reply

